Mississippi is the 37th state to pass a medical cannabis legalization measure


On February 2, Gov. Tate Reeves signed legislation that legalized medicinal-grade cannabis for state residents. 

According to The National Conference of State Legislatures, the move saw Mississippi make history as the 37th U.S. state in addition to four territories to legalize the plant.

People who have been diagnosed with conditions like AIDS, cancer and sickle cell disease can qualify for medical cannabis in Mississippi.

“There is no doubt that there are individuals in our state who could do significantly better if they had access to medically prescribed doses of cannabis,” reads an excerpt from a Twitter post by Reeves, adding that he doesn’t support recreational use of the green plant.

“There are also those who really want a recreational cannabis program that could lead to more people smoking and less people working, with all the societal and family ills that that brings,” added Reeves who, despite his lack of support for adult-use cannabis, claims that he is “committed to supporting the will of the people,” as demonstrated in the referendum.

Mississippi’s medical cannabis law caps monthly purchases at three ounces

The newly enacted law stipulates that medical cannabis in Mississippi can only be prescribed by a licensed medical doctor. In addition to this, the dispensaries that sell medicinal cannabis must be located 1,000 feet away from religious places of worship and schools.

As per the law, medical cannabis purchases will be classified in units. These units will be referred to as “Mississippi Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MMCEU)”.

Just one MMCEU equates to either one gram of medical cannabis concentrate, 100mg of a THC-infused cannabis product or 3.5 grams of medical cannabis.

Mississippi residents who possess medical cannabis cards will be allowed to purchase a maximum of six MMCEUs on a weekly basis, in addition to a maximum of 24 MMCEUs over a 30-day period. 

Based on reports covering Mississippi’s new medical cannabis law, qualified patients can purchase up to three ounces per month. The referendum that occurred in 2020 saw voters approve five ounces; the state Supreme Court nullified the suggested rule on a technicality.

Thanks to the new rule that allows three (as opposed to five) ounces each month, Reeves predicts that there will be “hundreds of millions fewer joints on the street.”

Only doctors can prescribe medical cannabis in Mississippi

With medical cannabis now legal in Mississippi, people who’ve been diagnosed with “debilitating medical conditions” can legally use the plant in pharmaceutical form within state borders. 

Additionally, qualified patients can obtain the necessary registry identification cards to buy the drug. 

Mississippi’s medical cannabis law also stipulates that registered and designated caregivers will be eligible to get their hands on cards. 

The state seeks to tax the production and sales of cannabis, which should only be cultivated in a condition-controlled indoor environment.

Medical cannabis sales will be overseen by the Mississippi State Department of Health. Dispensaries can begin obtaining licenses to operate within 150 days of the bill being enacted into law.

The signing of Mississippi’s medical cannabis law which Reeves says features prominent improvements from earlier editions emerged one week after a final version was approved by the State House and Senate.